Week 7

It has been really hard to find inspiration or ideas at all for this poster and one source I usually go to for inspiration is Pinterest. I have been researching all sorts of designs that are cinema related (not just posters). I have been looking at tickets, old posters from the German style, from the 80’s. I’ve been researching about old cameras and looked at how movies were made, to find some elements that could be interesting to include in my poster, instead of the main stream clapperboard. These are some of the images I collected for inspiration:

    

I have decided to not use illustrator vector drawings for this poster and focus on an other media such as hand drawn illustration. Also I have been trying to get away from the idea of elements of cinema such as clapperboard, cameras, tickets, popcorn etc, and focus more on the 5 senses. When we watch a movie we use sight through our eyes and therefore I decided to focus on eyes for my illustration. I first started looking at paintings such as the red poster “Massachusetts Independent Film Festival” above and some others images:

 

I found these illustrations so interesting and inspiring. The flat colours and the simple shapes create an image that is very unique and somehow feels complete. Even though illustrator creates flat shapes and colours, these are completely different for some reason and I love the effect they create.

I decided to give this technique a try and these were my first attempts:

 

 

 


Leave a comment