Week 3

This project turned out to be more complex that what I imagined. I never worked on photoshop before and for every action I wanted to make I had to watch tutorials in order to understand how the software worked. It was also challenging to plan ahead which layers I had to isolate in order to make them move in after effects. However I developed a way of working that helped me with this issue. I would mask all the layers I thought I would have needed at first and imported the file on after effects. Once I needed an other part to be isolated I would export only that layer and import in in after effects.

While watching the tutorials I realised that people take many things for granted and don’t mention them so I had to find many specific ones for each part I needed. An other struggle I had was the weight of the software on the computer. AfterEffects kept on shutting down and made me loose the most recent edits made and it was a huge time waste. In order to organise the work I decided to break it down into steps and do kind of a story board on what needs to be moved and how. This way of working helped me to stay organised and keep track of the work done and to be done. I often found myself not having enough background cloned to move something and this cause the movement impossible to create and therefore I had to go back to photoshop to clone more background:

I spent a long time going back and forth to photoshop, however I think that it helped me to be able to do that so that I did not need to start working on a whole new project every time I had an issue.


Leave a comment